Atherton High School Alumni Association
Hall of Fame 3000 Dundee Road
Louisville, Kentucky 40205
Skip Navigation Links
Sign Up
Registered Graduates
2023 Alumni Association Officers
Annual Fund Drive
2024 Nomination Form
2023 Hall of Fame Banquet
2023 Reservations
2023 The Vicky Award
Upcoming Reunions
Special Events
Giving Back
2023 Hall of Fame Committee
2022 Inductees
2020-2021 Inductees
2019 Inductees
2018 Inductees
2017 Inductees
2016 Inductees
2015 Inductees
2014 Inductees
2013 Inductees
2012 Inductees
2011 Inductees
2010 Inductees
2009 Inductees
2008 Inductees
2007 Inductees
2006 Inductees
2005 Inductees
2004 Inductees
2003 Inductees
2002 Inductees
School Song
Class Links
AHS Website
Contact Us
Committee Login

Members by Class Year

2007 Atherton High School Alumni Association Hall of Fame Inductees
In 2001, a small alumni group gathering at Atherton High school had the vision of honoring Atherton alumni who have contributed to our community and our country. Through this vision senators, a brigadier general, authors, teachers, university presidents, doctors, financiers, congressmen, entrepreneurs, a ballerina and more have been welcomed home to Atherton High School and inducted into the Atherton Alumni Association Hall of Fame. Our list is distinguished, impressive, and inspiring to each of us. It is especially important for the students of Atherton High School to witness this rich legacy.

Top row, left to right
Jay Ambrose, Robert Ewald, Erika Grawmeyer Janes, John Gaventa, Daniel Roth
Seated, left to right
Jane Goldstein, Patrick Coleman (Charles Coleman's father), Marlene Ontell Gordon, Louise Tachau Schulman, Don Blackburn
(Dorothy Russell Banta, Martha Barnett, John Gaventa,Tyree Wilburn, not pictured)
Inductee Year Graduated Biographical Data
Jay Ambrose 1962 AHS-1962 A nationally distributed columnist, Jay served as editor of a weekly newspaper at the age of 23.  He served as editor of El Paso Herald Post and Denver’s Rocky Mountain News and later was director of Editorial Policy for Scripps Howard Newspapers in Washington, D.C.  He served as a Pulitzer judge and on the board of the American Society of Newspaper Editors.
Dorothy Russell Banta 1973 AHS-1963 A member of the Latin Club and National Honor Society, she was a National Merit Semi-Finalist.  When she graduated from Vanderbilt, she was recruited by IBM.  Under contract to NASA, she was a pioneer in United States Space Program, working as a mission support programmers in the Apollo and Space Shuttle programs.  She died of cancer in 1995.
Martha Barnette 1975 AHS-1975 After graduation from Vassar (Phi Beta Kappa), she worked as a reporter for the Washington Post, and editorial writer for The Courier Journal.  She currently hosts a NPR program entitled “A Way with Words,” a logical outgrowth of her three books about words.
Donald Blackburn 1965 AHS-1965 A successful businessman, he was the recipient of the Robert Strauss Award for his service in the field of substance abuse through his founding Beacon House, a 42 man residential recovery program.  He has served on the board of Pitt Academy and is involved in the Big Brother /Big Sister program.  He received the 2000 Centre College Distinguished Alumnus Award.
Charles Loyd Coleman 1966 AHS-1966 A cross-country and track star at Atherton, Charles joined the Marines after graduation.  In Viet Nam he was killed in action when he stayed behind to cover the retreat of his unit in 1968.
Robert Ewald 1958 AHS-1958 After receiving his law degree at the University of Louisville he spent three years as a Judge Advocate USAF. He founded the Jefferson County Public Defender Office, named as National Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year for his dedication to and advocacy of the principles of equal justice for all.  In 2006 he was elected President of the Kentucky Bar Association.
John P. Gaventa 1967 AHS-1967 Rhodes Scholar, received a MacArthur grant in 1981, the same year he received the Woodrow Wilson Book Award from the American Political Science Association. Trustee of Oxfam in Britain, where he is at the University of Sussex’s Institute of Development Studies.
Jane Goldstein 1962 AHS-1962 Assistant Dean for Development & External Relations at the University of Louisville College of Business, she received the Red Apple Teaching Award at the University. Jane has been an active volunteer.  She served as president of the Jewish Family and Vocational Service, Association of Jewish Family and Children’s Agencies and the Jewish Community Federation of Louisville.  She served on the board of the Jewish Hospital. 
Marlene Ontell Gordon 1962 AHS-1962 After the birth of her three children, she received a Master of Arts in teaching from Spalding University. She worked for nine years at the Home of the Innocents before becoming the first JCPS coordinator of homeless and migrant education. She is currently the Executive director of The Coalition for the Homeless.
Erika Grawemeyer Kravic 1976 AHS-1976 Erika is a member of Children’s Hospital Foundation Office of Child Advocacy of Kosair Children’s Hospital.  Promoting childhood injury prevention initiatives.  Coordinator of the SAFE KIDS Coalition for 14 years, she has been involved in child safety seats, bike helmets, and loaner car seats.
Daniel Roth 1991 AHS-1991 Five time winner of the TJFR Business News Reporter’s Top 30 Business Journalists under the Age of 30, Best Story on entrepreneurs, a ballerinahip, 2005 Business Journalist of the Year Awards.  He is a senior writer at Conde Nast Portfolio, a new business magazine being launched in May 2007.
Louise Tachau Schulman 1947 AHS-1947 Her professional career included public and community relations work with Kentucky Department of Mental Health, The Louisville Orchestra and the State Human Rights Commission. She has been involved in volunteer work with adult and continuing education.  In 2006 she received the “Mayor’s International Award for Lifetime Achievement” for her leadership and volunteer work.
Tyree Wilburn 1970 AHS-1970 After over 30 years in the hospital industry, he serves as CEO of Merit Health Systems, provided the investment capital for Aptamera, a biotechnology firm which has developed an early cancer detection list.  He has also supported the renovation of the Field Hockey field at Atherton.
 2002  | 2003  | 2004  | 2005  | 2006  | 2008  | 2009  | 2010  | 2011  | 2012  | 2013  | 2014  | 201520162017201820192020-20212022